Simon (19) 4a1b44ed61_Logo 19308ac545_Classichillclimb logo2 logo3

Promoted by:

Round 11 - Loton Park

A blisteringly hot Loton meeting provided yet another endurance test for the Classic series competitors. Thankfully being situated in the Dunlop paddock area gave some very much appreciated tree cover! With the temperature around 30 degrees by mid afternoon it was interesting to see what effect it would have on times.


Saloon cars:

With a touch smaller class than normal (still 9 entries) it was Garry Cox in his Scimitar Coupe that emerged as fastest driver with a time just a few hundreths under his PB. Graham Hill & Matt Clarke provided the entertainment in their incredibly sideways Mini's , both a fair way above their respective handicap times, but filling the 2nd & 3rd places on scratch times. Winner on handicap was Yvette Stader in the Alfa Romeo Berlina with a time nearly 3 seconds under her previous best. Series sponsor Mike Henney was second in his Lotus Cortina followed by Garry Cox.



Five cars entered this class. Fastest on the day was Nick Stephens in his rapid Ginetta. Handicap win went to Brian Ashley in the much improved MGB GT , sorting out some engine problems between meetings making it much quicker. Second on handicap was Steve Phennah, consistantly picking up good points in the series. Third was Chris Jones in his imp powered Ginetta.


Single Seaters:

Martin Jones pulled out an unexpected fastest time in his Lotus Twincam powered Brabham BT21 against the might of the V8 version driven by Andy Tippett. This also being good enough for the overall class win on the day. Grant Cratchley (also BT21 mounted) was third fastest. Phil Fisher continued his series of much improved times at venues during his second season with the Mallock, setting fastest handicap time over 2 seconds quicker than his previous best. Andy Tippett was second followed by Les Buck in the Pringlett FF1600.


69296808_1286513004859281_8742182412319981568_n 69111067_1286513314859250_6500644684254150656_n IMG_7130 IMG_7114 saloon times sports time race times