Simon (19) 4a1b44ed61_Logo 19308ac545_Classichillclimb logo2 logo3

Promoted by:

Round 4 - Gurston Down

Gurston Down once again proved quite a challenge for the 22 BOC / Aldon Classic competitors that made the trek down to Salisbury for round 4 of the series. The Championship is in good health and it was very encouraging to see the largest selection of drivers we have ever fielded at this great venue. The track is fairly short but it certainly isn't easy with some technical sections and a couple of white knuckle / deep breath fast sweeping 's' bends. Competition was close on handicap & in some classes on scratch times as well. The weather was very different to last year being around 15 degrees C cooler. Light drizzle on several occasions failed to wet the road but lead to some uncertainty when fully commiting to the fast bits!

Saloon Cars

Eight cars took the start with a wide variety from the fast Scimitars of Trevor Shortt , John & Steve Louch to the Mk1 Jaguar of Christopher Wigdor. Trevor , Steve and Simon Braithwaite in the Mk1 Escort all battled over fastest time throughout the day with only 0.5 seconds covering the trio. Trevor eventually emerging as the winner with two timed runs only 0.01 seconds apart. Handicap winner was Christopher in the Jaguar from Andy Clarke in his 'new' Mini, closely followed by Trevor Shortt.


Sports Cars

Five cars started in this class. John Newton proving the fastest on the day in his TVR. Callum Barney driving Philip Staders MG Midget was second on scratch times with Mike Henney third in the Lotus Europa. Mike however wins the handicap award from Callum followed by John.


Single Seaters

Ten entries in this class with the unfortunate Martin Jones unable to start following a tyre problem only found at the last moment before setting off. Richard Jones proved the star of the class with some once again unmatchable times in his Brabham BT29 BDA. Nick Stephens was second fastest in his Lotus 51 from Andy Tippett in the Brabham BT30 V8. Handicap positions were Andy Tippett first , from David Owen's Merlyn Mk11 second with Grant Cratchley third in his Brabham BT21.

Simon Braithwaite