top of page

Round 2

Round 2 of the 2023 Bugatti Owners Club /Fassi Classic Speed Championship took place at the organising club's home venue of Prescott Hillclimb.

This was the first time for a while that the classic series supported a British Hillclimb round over two days. Three practice runs took place on the Saturday in mostly dry conditions and a fourth practice and two competitive runs were offered on the Sunday. The classic classes assumed the traditional slots prior to the big single seater run-offs.


The meeting was busy with a large entry which lead to some slow progress at times , but generally things went well and were mostly okay. Times were generally close to handicap predictions proving the track was in reasonable condition considering the recent wet spell.


The Saloon class was once again the most numerous with a first appearance from the ex-works Allegro of Peter Cooper and a 2023 debut for John Barber (Fiat) , Simon Braithwaite (Escort Mk1) and Piers Thynne (Mini Cooper).  Competition was close all weekend with the Mini Cooper of Steve Akers emerging as handicap winner. John Barber and Alistair Clark (Triumph Vitesse) took the other podium slots. Fastest saloon car just went to Simon Braithwaite followed very closely by Mark Hobbs (Escort Mk2) , third was Martyn Saunders making it an Escort trio. 

Sportscars had five starters but this was rapidly reduced to three when the transmission of father and son pairing Tim & Ben Cross expired on the startline of an early run on Saturday. Unfortunately the family MG Midget was sidelined from that point forward. Hopefully they should be back for Shelsey or Loton Park in early may. Garry Cox took up the mantle of fastest Sportscar being a fair way in front of the remaining drivers - both new to the championship. Henry Mitchell in his Clan Crusader took handicap spoils from Garry then came Ian Beattie in the lovely Jaguar XK120 roadster.

Racing cars & Sports Racing cars continues to have only a small entry with only three drivers attending this meeting (although another 4 or 5 previous competitors were present contesting the midland championship). Fastest time on scratch on the day went to Peter Thurston in the very rapid Mallock Twincam.  Handicap winner was Jeremy Rivers-Fletcher in the tiny Buckler special. Mike White was a welcome returnee in his familiar MG Special.

Results for the Overall championship and the Classic Hillclimb awards can be found on the other pages within this section.

bottom of page