top of page


Round 9 of the 2022 FASSI / Bugatti Owners Club speed championship took place at Shelsley Walsh hillclimb's 'Harvest Festival' final weekend meeting of the season. Good numbers were present in the Saloon and Sportscars classes with just Carole in the Nike FF1600 representing Racing cars. Some incredibly close battles during the day meant that only a few tenths of a second covered the first few drivers in the classes on handicap. Overall Awards on the day (on handicap) went to Tim Brook, first place in the lovely Corvette, Ben Cross second in the MG with Garry Cox third in his Scimitar Coupe.

Updated! Forgot to mention that Alistair Clark debuted his Triumph Vitesse and Mark Hobbs suffered a rare engine drama (as yet not known but possibly spark related).


Following the penultimate round of the 2022 FASSI / BOC classic championship at Shelsley Walsh the points tables show some likely front runners for Overall and class honours leading into the final round at Prescott on Saturday 1st October.

Overall 2022 champion can now be one of three drivers – all from within the Sportscars class. Stephen Akers currently leads in his Lotus Elan, but is closely followed by Ben Cross (MG Midget) and Charles Boulton (MGB V8). Either of these can win as dropped scores will not come into effect this season with the counting rounds being increased to 8 from 10. Tim Cross (MG Midget) looks set to be third in this class at the seasons end as the Overall winner will forfeit their Sportscars class position.

Saloon cars is narrowly lead by Martin Saunders (Escort RS2000 Mk1) from Dave Parr (Ford Anglia), third place is currently held by Brian Ashley (Austin A35) but this is under threat from several other competitors, Matt Clarke (Austin Mini) , Garry Cox (Reliant Scimitar GTE) and Championship Sponsor Leigh Carter (Fiat Abarth).

Racing cars & Sports Racing Cars class has been won by Christopher Wigdor, now not catchable in his early Mallock Twincam. Missing from the final round due to an axle breakage he heads Martin Jones (Elva Mk7 Lotus) from Carole Nicholls in her Nike Historic FF1600. Jeremy Rivers Fletcher is an outside chance for third place in his Triumph Special.

In the Classic awards for fastest drivers , Matt Clarke has taken the seasons Saloon car title in his rapid Mini, Stephen Akers and Ben Cross are both still in contention for Sportscar honours. Martin Jones is likely to win Racing cars from the missing Christopher Wigdor.


(Rd9 Handicap results are still provisional until approved by BOC this week)

bottom of page